Let no young man choosing the law for a calling for a moment yield to the popular belief. Resolve to be honest at all events; and if in your own judgment you cannot be an honest lawyer, resolve to be honest without being a lawyer.

— Abraham Lincoln

Recent Blog Articles:

Mother Charged with Pimping Her Own Children

A Brooks County woman faces over half a dozen criminal charges including pimping a child under the age of 18. Terry Olliff, along with her boyfriend Michael Snipes, was arrested on prostitution-related charges that included enticing a child for indecent purposes and cruelty to children.

Brooks County Sheriff’s Department asked GBI authorities to assist with allegations of child abuse against the mother and her boyfriend. The GBI confirms that four children were involved and investigation into the case is still ongoing.

Prostitution Related Crimes

Pimping is one of a handful of prostitution related crimes under Georgia Law. Others include prostitution and pandering. Some of the charges are felonies and, in some situations, offenders must register as sex offenders.

  • Prostitution is when someone is performing, offering, or agreeing to perform a sexual act for money or anything of value. The act does not necessarily have had to take place for the offense to occur.
  • Pimping occurs when a person offers or agrees to arrange a meeting with another person for prostitution, obtains a prostitute for someone, directs or transports a person to a place for prostitution purposes, receives the cash or valuable object for the prostitute, or aids or commands someone to perform an act of prostitution.
  • Pandering involves the act of soliciting a person to engage in prostitution on their behalf or gathering people for solicitation.

Penalties for Prostitution Related Crimes

While prostitution alone in Georgia is a misdemeanor, pandering, pimping, and having a place for prostitution are aggravated misdemeanors. In some special circumstances these charges can rise to felonies.

For example, people pandering by compulsion or coercing someone under duress to perform a prostitution act, will face felony charges. The punishment for such a crime comes with a jail sentence between one and 10 years. People convicted of pandering will also have their crimes, address, and photo published in the county where the offense occurred. If the convicted person receives probation, he or she must submit to sexually transmitted disease testing. The person must also agree to have the results released to their spouse if they have one.

Anyone found guilty of pimping a minor, or someone under age 18, will forfeit the proceeds of any act of prostitution by the minor to the government. Furthermore, if the crime involves a vehicle, the guilty person may have to forfeit the vehicle as well.

Underage Prostitution

If the accused involves a minor in pandering, keeping a place of prostitution, or pimping, the charges automatically become felonies. The penalty for a child between the ages of 16 and 18 is a minimum of five years and up to 20 years in prison as well as a fine between $2,500 and $10,000. If the charge involves a child under the age of 16, the punishment is a minimum of 10 years and up to 30 years in prison with a fine up to $100,000. Additionally, these sentences increase if the offense occurs within 1,000 feet of a playground, school, place of worship, or children’s rec center.

Obtaining Legal Advice

If you have prostitution related charges, you should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney. The attorneys at Tyler Moore Law have experience handling criminal cases just like this and will represent you to the fullest extent of the law. Contact them today for a consultation.

Speeding Ticket Cameras Coming to a School Zone Near You

Last October a negligent driver killed a 4-year-old girl in DeKalb County as her mother walked her to school. Just a few weeks later, a car struck and killed a school crossing guard in Cobb County. Both fatalities happened in school zones and are the reason why Georgia lawmakers are working to change laws that govern speeding in school zones.  Specifically, they are implementing new speeding ticket laws.

While school zones are typically locations with lower speed limits, video cameras will soon help enforce those limits. While some people think it is a terrible idea to allow a speeding ticket to issue without the input of an actual on-scene law enforcement officer, other people think it is a step in the right direction.

House Bill 978

Georgia already allows cameras to give violations to motorists if they run a red light, although some cities have recently dismantled the red light systems. Governor Nathan Deal signed House Bill 978 Tuesday allowing automatic traffic devices, or cameras, to be used in school zones. These cameras will catch people speeding in school zones and can issue tickets that carry civil penalties. School buses already use the cameras to enforce laws that prohibit passing a stopped school bus. Law enforcement agencies will install the cameras, which will require a permit from the Georgia Department of Transportation to operate.

Speed Cameras

Speed and red light cameras are becoming more and more common and many states have enacted laws and legislation that allow these types of devices to be used in certain situations. 12 states, as well as the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands, allow speed cameras to operate in at least one type of location. If you receive a citation from a speed camera, be sure that you were the one driving at the time. If you loaned your car to someone, the driver is responsible for the ticket and not the owner.

Consequences of a Speeding Ticket Citation

While the citation will not go into effect until this summer, you should consider the consequences ahead of time. Because the citations are civil penalties and not criminal violations, the violation will not go against your driver’s license and points will not be assessed against the violator’s license. Courts will continue to enforce traditional speeding tickets the same way as before. Insurance companies cannot use these violations against the person receiving the ticket. The fines for first time violators will be $75, with the second and subsequent offenses increasing to $125.

Defenses Against a Speeding Ticket Citation

There may be defenses against your camera speeding ticket citation if you receive this new type of school zone violation. You may be able to prove that you were not the person driving the car. Perhaps there were extenuating circumstances that led you speed, such as avoiding an accident. Because new laws can be extremely complex, it is best to consult with an attorney experienced in traffic violations. The attorneys at Tyler Moore Law have the knowledge and experience to represent you and get the best possible outcome for your situation. Contact them for a consultation today.


View Entire Blog